Page 2 of 2

Re: A Firefox upgrade has

PostPosted: November 30th, 2017, 5:52 pm
by Phillip Phlopp
It looks like Firefox is using nearly all your available memory. I don't know anything about Windows systems and whether there is a way to limit the browser's usage. Can anyone else help?

Re: A Firefox upgrade has

PostPosted: November 30th, 2017, 6:02 pm
by ChoccyCake
I downloaded Opera browser briefly then uninstalled, I didn't like t he look of it
also it kept on asking me about firefox.
I can't take photos of it because I've not replaced my camera yet.

Re: A Firefox upgrade has

PostPosted: December 1st, 2017, 9:29 am
by Phillip Phlopp
As I said upthread I had problems running Firefox while I had other high use software open. My Mac had 2Gb RAM installed when I bought it ten years ago. After struggling with the Mac slowing down I had the RAM increased to 4Gb and this solved the problem straight away.

Re: A Firefox upgrade has

PostPosted: December 1st, 2017, 12:53 pm
by Redpig59
Chrome uses a lot of memory too, but not as much as Firefox.
I used to use Firefox for Uni, but don't any more for just that reason.

Re: A Firefox upgrade has

PostPosted: December 1st, 2017, 1:08 pm
by Phillip Phlopp
I can't remember the numbers off the top of my head but when I doubled the RAM from 2Gb to 4Gb Firefox increased its usage. I just checked the Mac Activity Monitor and Firefox is using 1.3Gb of RAM. I have two forums, one blog and a twitter page open, all low use of graphics plus I use Adblock so there's no advertising graphics going on in the background.

Re: A Firefox upgrade has

PostPosted: December 1st, 2017, 1:58 pm
by Redpig59
Two forums?
Two?